Summer: Play, Pie, Pacify

by Kathryn Baldwin

My summer laziness is severe. I leave the back door open so that I don’t have to let the dogs in and out. I’ve resorted to checking email only when I feel like it. (Don’t worry though…my motivation to publish KGuac is through the rooof–cough). When I have laundry to do, I visit my mom’s closet. When I’m hungry, I buy food. When I’m tired, I buy caffein.

In fact, I’m damn proud of myself for allowing this summer laziness. Just because we have jobs, car payments, and family event-planning doesn’t mean we shouldn’t tell each other to shut up and slow down!!!!!

Stop running around: let the heat remind you to sit down. Stop wasting gas on grocery runs: pick the apricots out of the tree in your yard. Cut something out of your schedule: construct a rustic pie for your family!

On that note:

My Grandma Charlene taught me how to make her famous pie crust one hot, summer week in Arkansas. I’ve made the crust many times and it never fails.

 

In a bowl gently combine four things until they join together in a lumpy glob:

1) 2 1/4 cups flour

2) a teaspoon of salt

3) 2/3 cup of vegetable oil

4) 1/3 cup of water

The less you mess with your dough, the flakier it will be. (Only the flaky crusts pass Grandpa’s taste test!) Break the glob in half: one half is the bottom crust; the other, the top crust. Place some wax paper on the counter and sprinkle flour on top. Put one of the dough globs onto the floured wax paper. Add a little flour to the top of the glob and put another sheet of wax paper on top.

Using a rolling pin, roll from the center outward, spinning the wax paper sandwich as you go so that creating a circle is easier. If you’re rushing and not careful, your crust will look overly rustic (hence my crazy, awkward-looking pie…). With the dough safe between the wax paper, you can hold the crust over your pie dish to check for size!

Pull one layer of wax paper off, flip it upside down on your pie dish, and then slowly remove the other layer of wax paper. After you position the crust in the pan, poke holes in the bottom so that steam is able to release. Add any summer fruit mixture you can find on the internet. (In a separate bowl, I mixed freshly picked apricot halves, brown sugar, white sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a tiny bit of flour. I then poured that fruit mixture on top of the bottom dough layer.) I guarantee if the mixture recipe you find sounds yummy, it will be yummy. Then, top it off with the other glob of dough (which you can roll out in the same way you rolled out the first). No matter how it looks, remember that any home-made pie is a million times better than a store-bought one… right? Haha:

Poke some holes in the top (Grandma Charlene makes a smiley face on the top) and put it in the oven at 475 degrees for 20 minutes. This higher temperature makes the bottom crust crispier!

Change the temperature to 375 degrees for 20 more minutes. If the crust starts to brown too early, cover the pie (or just the edges) with foil.

It’s really a simple, lazy process. If I can make this pie in the middle of a summer day, you can make it with your eyes closed (or after a few beers).

By the way. It’s too late to be writing. I’m exhausted…

4 Comments to “Summer: Play, Pie, Pacify”

  1. “your crust will look overly rustic”- that made me chuckle. I’ve never tried baking a pie… maybe I’ll give your grandma’s recipe a go, it looks good.

  2. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I¡¯m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

